make a playroom!

Until recently all things baby lived in our family room….when I walked in I always said, “Oh gosh. It looks like a day care in here…” We had a play mat…two exersaucers…a few baskets for toys….several stacks of books…wipes and diapers and quilts and boppy pillows and the list goes on and on…it was a lot of baby crap. All really important and used baby crap. But it definitely made our main living room space feel less than open and roomy…and plain old cluttered!

So we decided it was time to use one of our spare bedrooms to make a playroom to house all out baby stuff. I wanted to create a space that I wouldn’t mind sitting in all day but also a space that would be relatively cheap…with babies, the need for various spaces change all the time so I don’t want to spend a lot on something that would be relatively temporary (as soon as the babes are crawling our “baby space” will probably move down to the big open basement)…

The only things I really spent money on were the curtains and a few canvas and and frames for some art for the walls. The curtains were actually oblong table cloths on clearance for $12 a piece…I purchased 3. The canvases were on clearance for $2 each and I got 4. Frames were only $9 for two and then I spent about $10 on scrapbook paper and a few paints. So total I think I spent about $60 to change a completely blank, empty room (well it was empty after we cleared out all the other stuff we had been tossing in there) into a simple but functional play space!

Check out the playroom….

20130228-214104.jpg

And some of my easy peasy art for the walls….

20130228-214146.jpg

20130228-214202.jpg

And check out that clean, empty, free of baby items family room…

20130228-214258.jpg

I am trying to figure out why we didn’t do this sooner….

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “make a playroom!

  1. Ede

    Such a good idea! Looks great!

  2. d2bb32av

    I didn’t realize that the ‘curtains’ were actually table cloths! WOW! You did a great job!

Leave a Reply

