embrace the camera

you should take a look through my photos from the last year compared to all the years previously.  you would notice a huge difference.  it’s obvious.  ever since my two little bambinos entered the world, the camera has been ON THEM.  not on me.  

 

it’s not coincidental.  i personally think that people would much rather see pictures of their cute faces than the faces of their tired, unshowered parents.  who wouldn’t?!

 

but then i realized that there are some people that just might like to see my mug (and greg’s) every once in a while….those bambinos who i take photos of constantly.  that’s who.  as they get older and look back through pictures…or albums…or photo books (whatever is the trendy form of displaying photos in the next few years) i imagine they’ll want to see how their mama looked.  

 

i didn’t realize this until i was reading the anderson crew’s blog.  she has a thing called “embrace the camera” and every thursday she gets in a picture with her kiddos.  one of them…a few of them…all of them.  the point is that she shows up.  as i was reading about embrace the camera, it all made sense.

 

typically, i don’t take pictures of myself because, as mentioned above, i’m tired and i have baby snot all over my shirt, and i forgot to wipe off my mascara last night, and my babies are just way more cute.  but i also know that my babies don’t care what i look like.  i know that in the future they won’t cherish the fact that mom was always put together.  they will cherish the fact that i took time to be silly, or happy with them….and that they have those photos as memories.  

 

so.  i am going to make a really big effort to embrace the camera once a week.  maybe it will just be me and sophia….or maybe just me and joshy.  or maybe it will be with both babes, or our whole family (papa bear included)….the point is that i want to create these memories for myself…the babies….our family, and the reality is that i am part of these memories, so i am gonna get the heck in these photos!   

 

enjoy the first embrace the camera photo from today.  

Image

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “embrace the camera

  1. d2bb32av

    WOW! That’s a great way to think about pictures! And this one is GREAT! Keep up the great work mama!!!

  2. Mary

    This picture is fantastic. I couldn’t agree more and it is one of my main regrets with my own twins and family – it as if I never existed. And, although I thought I looked awful back then, I look at the one or two photos I have, and I look a lot younger than I do now. It is so important for kids to see pics of their parents with them. I cherish certain photos of me and my parents. Embrace life, embrace the camera, embrace everything…..

  3. Your words are so true. You even brought a tear to my eye. I love the way you love your family!!

Leave a Reply

