oatmeal chocolate chip muffins…

If something has the word “oatmeal” it has to be a healthy breakfast food, right?

Right!

I came across this recipe a while ago (I forgot where I got it) so, on Saturday morning, when I was trying desperate to stay awake with the babies around 5 am, I decided I wanted to bake and I realized I had everything for these muffins…

20130521-212112.jpg

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins
Makes 12 standard-sized muffins

INGREDIENTS:

1 and 1/3 cup flour
1 cup oats (I used quick oats since it’s what we had on hand)
1/2 tsp salt
1 TBS baking powder
1 cup milk
1/4 cup canola oil (optional, or replaceable with applesauce or other ingredients)
2 eggs
1 cup mini chocolate chips
INSTRUCTIONS:

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix well. In a smaller bowl, combine the wet ingredients and whisk well. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix together with as few strokes as possible. Add in your chocolate chips, divide the batter into muffin liners or a greased muffin tin and bake at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes (or until they test done with a toothpick)!

Don’t they look scrumptious?!?

20130521-212214.jpg

Super quick and easy to make!

But I put it to the ultimate taste test and fed it to the babies…

20130521-212309.jpg

20130521-212321.jpg

I wasn’t really sure how it would go over cause they have never had chocolate… but who am I kidding?! Who doesn’t like chocolate? It was such a small amount but they sure did gobble it up!

Tasty treat on an early Saturday morning!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “oatmeal chocolate chip muffins…

  1. d2bb32av

    They look happy!! I know I would be HAPPY to have that for breakfast! You’ll have to make a batch to share soon!

Leave a Reply

