saying goodbye is hard…

20130719-200914.jpg

We are about 3 hours into our 10 hour trip….the babies are finally drifting to dreamland as the quite tunes lull them to sleep. Greg is at the wheel and I have kicked my feet up. Finally. I have the next seven hours where I can’t get chores done, I can’t run an errand…I get to just sit. Kind of exactly what I need right now.

Don’t let this post fool you. I couldn’t be more thankful and excited about the opportunity to move back East…closer to family. Greg and I both feel this is what God wants for us.

But at the very same time, it is so, so hard for me to leave Minnesota. I never dreamed that the cold, snowy state would feel so warm and cozy…but it did! It felt like home. From the moment I moved, actually.

My original plan was to live in Minnesota for a year. Funny when things don’t go according to your plan. Instead, I stayed long enough to earn a Bachelors and Masters degree…to meet, date, and marry my husband….to buy a house…to birth a few babies…and to meet the most incredible friends. I had no idea the kind of friendships that I gained even existed. They do.

So now, 11 years later, I am packing up my wonderful life here in Minnesota…I know it’s right, but still so hard.

It’s hard because I truly don’t like saying goodbye. It’s fine to say goodbye when I know I will see you tomorrow…or next week…but when you say goodbye for an unknown amount of time…my heart breaks.

It’s hard to say goodbye to…

…play dates with my best friend and her kids…

….watching the bachelorette with my girlfriends…

…evenings on the deck, eating ice cream with other couples who you love doing life with…

…get togethers with other mamas to twins who just “get” you…

…friends who you haven’t seen in ages but you pick up right where you left off…

…lunch dates on my couch while my babies are sleeping…

…restaurants where Greg and I frequented as new love birds…

…the Target store that I took the babies to on my first solo outing when they were mere days old…and where we frequented weekly….

…the pond where we fed the ducks daily…

…the mall of america…uhhh, tax free clothes shopping!

I could go on and on, but you get the picture! There are so many, MANY reasons this move is so hard.

But…BUT! It’s so good on so many levels!

…My babies will know their grandparents and aunts/uncles/cousins! What a blessing that will be!

…My husband has a great new job that will challenge him in a new and exciting way.

…I will get the chance to step outside my comfort zone…a lot!

…and WE as a family have the opportunity to create lots and lots of memories together. To seek out community, and to hopefully, somehow, bless those around us.

So you can imagine why it’s hard to say goodbye…

But oh, how beautiful it will be to say hello…

…and as the saying goes…it’s not “goodbye”…it’s “see you soon”…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “saying goodbye is hard…

  1. I remember saying goodbye to our lives in Memphis, and recall many of the feelings you are having right now. I’m happy for you and Greg because you are following God’s call for your lives, but I’m sad because I know how hard it is to leave a place you’ve made home. I still struggle with it. But God gives us strength for each new day and He will bless you indefinitely, Tina! I can’t wait to hear of all the stories of the new community and memories you will make ๐Ÿ™‚ Blessings on the road to your new home!

Leave a Reply

