back in action…PART 3

Let’s wrap up this series of Debbie Downer posts with the grand finale…part 3 of my bloggy break….warning…it’s long!

Greg and I were on our way home from Indiana and stopped for lunch on Sunday. I ate my whole lunch but I just felt a little off…a little nauseous. I thought maybe it was lack of sleep…maybe lack of eating well while away…but didn’t think much more.

Came home to happy, healthy babes and was ready for life to resume as usual.

Monday rolled around and I still felt off, as I did on the way home. Except now it seemed a little worse. I was nauseous but didn’t think I was going to throw up…and I had this dull ache throughout my entire lower abdomen. I just dealt with it and counted down the hours till Greg came home.

Tuesday morning I woke up still feeling pretty gross and the dull ache just didn’t let up. I told Greg I needed to go to the doc cause it wasn’t getting any better, so he stayed home with the babies. Doctor talked to me and poked around on my belly and declared that it was in fact a ….VIRUS. Remember how much I dislike that word?! Yeah. Still dislike it. I went home and tried to rest the remainder of the day while Greg was home and got to bed early that night.

Wednesday I woke up still feeling ill. I now had chills and the ache would get worse if I laid a certain way or even sometimes if I ate something. It was so odd but I sent Greg to work because a virus means you just have to get through it. I decided to nap when the babies took a nap but couldn’t sleep because I felt so icky. I couldn’t get comfy…I was cold…I had a fever…I just knew something was not right.

After an hour of tossing and turning I got up to call Greg and felt slightly light headed. I took my temp and it had spiked. I told him I needed him to come home since I didn’t feel good about being so off while alone with the babies. He was able to come home within a few hours.

Before Greg got home I called the nurse line to see if they had any insight or suggestions…I was in queue to be called back. Greg got home and I crawled into bed. Called the nurse line again because I hadn’t heard back. They told me they still had my info and someone would call me back…

At this point I knew I needed to be seen and now it was getting too late to go to our clinic. So I decided to go to Urgent Care and I arranged to have my sister come over to be with babies since I just had this feeling I would need Greg.

Got there, got in….they can’t read my blood pressure. They determine my blood pressure is low due to dehydration so they hook me up to an IV…

20131211-203036.jpg

So much fun. Not.

As we waited for a few tests to come back the pain started to move more specifically to my right lower ab…as opposed to an all over ache. The doctor came in and said nothing came back conclusive…so she poked around my belly and I nearly jumped off the table. As I winced in pain she said “oh…you need to go to the ER to get a scan to check for appendicitis…”

What???

Until then I never imagined it could be that because the pain was so inconsistent and never a “doubling over in pain” kind of feeling. But when she pushed on my right side I realized it was a good possibility.

Off to the ER we went. My mom took over baby duty as we sat in triage in the ER. She took good care of them but I felt awful for leaving them so abruptly and not even really saying bye…I could not have anticipated a trip to the ER!

Finally got back to a room, saw a few people, and waited hours to see a doc. Once we saw the doc and he heard the whole story, he ordered a scan to check on my appendix. Another few hours went by {worst hours yet…drinking this nasty drink every 30 minutes, four times…I just wanted water, and food, and they gave me their special concoction instead} and I was wheeled back to get a scan. The pain came and went and I was fully expecting them to say my appendix was just fine.

Another hour after scan a nurse came and brought some antibiotics for my IV…I asked why and he said there was an infection going on…so I thought “oh this will be a quick fix…”

Then another nurse came with more fluids. I asked what that was for and she said “well it’s a prep for surgery…oh did anyone tell you? You need to have your appendix taken out…”

Oh, thanks for keeping me in the loop.

What??

We saw the resident surgeon who scared the living dayligjts out of me as he gives me the play by play of the surgery and risks etc. Then within 45 minutes they wheeled me up to pre surgery.

I asked a zillion more questions about the surgey and being put under {to stall of course} and finally they got sick of my questions and said “ok, say goodbye and give Greg a kiss…” They asked me a few questions about the babies as we went back to the OR and then all i remember was seeing very bright lights and then I was out!

Then as if no time had passed, I woke up. I wasn’t sore and felt pretty ok but I was so so sleepy. They kept talking to me and I just wanted to sleep. Finally Greg came back to see me and eventually we got set up in a room.

By this time it’s very early morning (5-6) so Greg crashed but I couldn’t. Between docs and nurses coming in and lights and an awful bed, I just couldn’t sleep. But I was so so excited that I barely felt any discomfort. It was hard to move but the pain was super tolerable.

20131211-204716.jpg

Then as the day progressed the pain got worse…and worse…and then it was time to be discharged. Part of me wanted to stay to get more of the good medicine but by 6 pm we were off! I waited till the babies were in bed so I could get a few more hours of healing before they potentially climbed on me…my mom headed out since the babies were in bed and Greg was on duty for all of us!

The next morning Greg brought the babies, the iPad, and snacks up to our room so I could see them but keep them a bit at a distance…

20131211-205018.jpg

Greg took great care of the babies that day and once everyone was in bed Greg started not feeling well. Like throwing up several meals worth of not feeling well. What the heck!!!! I was of no use…Greg was of no use…and we had two babies just doors down to be cared for. I called my mom and within minutes she was on her way back.

She woke up with the babies the next morning and we decided it would be best for her to take them to her house so we could rest and recover. I felt so sad cause they didn’t understand what was going on but off they went and it was the best decision we made!

Greg slowly recovered and so did I. Little by little. The babies came back on Sunday evening and Greg prepared to go to work the next day.

Except slight problem….I was instructed not to lift more than 10 pounds for 1-2 weeks. Umm…I have two babies much heavier than that…and Greg can’t stay home forever. We are so blessed that our family literally came to our rescue. While I was improving, I was far from GREAT…so for that first week after surgery I had someone with me most of the day, every day, to help with the babies. It was hard not to lift them cause they just wanted mama but we did lots of cuddling on the couch to make up for the lack of picking up.

The next week was Thanksgiving and it really wasn’t until several days after thanksgiving that I felt normal again.

So there you have it!

That’s how a month and a half goes by without even blinking. And that’s why I was so absent. Not that I will be back and blogging every day, but I sure hope it’s not as infrequent as it was during the month of SICK!

And….I promise to have some fun and happy posts here in the next few days 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “back in action…PART 3

  1. Debbie Ventura

    Sure wish there had been a happier/more fun to be away from blogging… like “You just won a trip for 4 to the Virgin Islands – for the whole month of November!”… but since that wasn’t the reason for your absence… at least we know one thing…. you’ll never have to worry about your appendix ever again!

Leave a Reply

