girls weekend!!!!

I have been meaning to post about this all last week, and finally I am here to share!

Last weekend {Valentines/Presidents Day weekend} I hopped a bus and headed to Chicago to spend time with my besties!

It was seriously such a blessing that Greg was able to take off work and STAY with the babies…you heard that right folks…he willingly stayed a weekend alone with the kids. Not that they aren’t fun or anything…they are…but they are also a lot of work..and being on duty for 3 days straight is a lot. I even dread those long stretches when Greg has to travel for work. Anyway, all that to say…I am fully aware that not all husbands/dads would be up for that…so to say I was so blessed by this time away is an understatement!

I was in Chicago Friday afternoon till super late on Sunday night {took midnight bus home} and spent the weekend walking, lounging, eating, talking, shopping, laughing, and connecting with my soul sisters!

Friday Beth and I decided to have a low key “mama” day…we grabbed lunch at a sweet little cafe near our hotel…shopped a bit…took a nap…and then had dinner {PIZZA!} in bed! It was seriously so beautiful to connect with Beth who is also a mama and talk about life as a wife and a mother and just being encouraged all around! I am pretty sure we fell asleep at 9:00 pm…we sure know how to live it up in the Windy City!

20140223-192849.jpg

Saturday was lazy in the morning and we lounged, grabbed a late breakfast at the same cafe {we wanted to feel like “regulars”} and then we heard from Darcy that she would be arriving soon! And then there were three….

20140223-193115.jpg

Darcy is one of my favorite people to explore with…she is so laid back, up for anything {except karaoke…thank goodness!} and just loves to have fun all while being up for discussing life, love, and other mysteries!

I won’t bore you with every detail of or day so I will let the pics do the talking!

20140223-193356.jpg

20140223-193405.jpg

20140223-193448.jpg

20140223-193459.jpg

20140223-193511.jpg

20140223-193520.jpg

Fun day ended with a stop at a dualing piano bar. We had a blast and stayed out way past my normal bedtime…wild woman over here!

Sunday morning Beth left super early, and I really couldn’t sleep so off to the lobby to check in with these cuties via FaceTime….

20140223-193705.jpg

A little crazy how much I missed them all! After a slow morning Darcy and I stopped for food and off we went for the day…we went all over town it felt like and ended up in Millenium Park, and Lincoln Park to name a few…

20140223-193906.jpg

20140223-193923.jpg

20140223-193935.jpg

20140223-193952.jpg

20140223-194006.jpg

We rolled into our hotel room Sunday evening with just enough time to pack up and take an hour nap before catching a cab and hopping on the bus to take the overnight trip home!

I didn’t sleep much, if any, so when we rolled into town around 6 am, I rolled down the windows and got home as fast as possible! I crawled into bed and woke up 1.5 hours later to sweet baby snuggles!!!!

So thankful this weeked happened {we have been planning this weekend since last June!}….so refreshing and so wonderful to come back to my husband and kids….right where I belong!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

