dear teacher…

I have always been the TEACHER….never the PARENT….but tomorrow, it’s my turn to be the parent taking her kids to their first day of school. I know preschool is really not THAT big of a deal….they aren’t going to college or anything….but at the same time, it is THAT big of a deal….this is their first experience away from home. Now, being on the parent side of things, I wish, as a teacher, I had gotten a letter from each of my student’s parents on the first day of school….letters straight from the parent’s heart…


Dear Teacher,


My son Joshua is in your Pre School class this year. He is really excited about going to school and that you, Mrs. Applesauce {he giggled when picking that name for you because he couldn’t remember your real name} are going to be his teacher!  

  

Joshua is usually called Joshy at home and does NOT like being called Josh. He has made that clear to us. Joshy has a twin sister, Sophia. Yes, they are twins, but Joshua is Joshua….not just “Sophia’s twin”…Joshua may play with other kids, but know that he is very aware of his sister’s whereabouts and will probably want to check in on what she’s doing.

  

Joshy loves to ask questions and loves to share answers. He may blurt out in the middle of story time, but it’s only because he’s so curious and excited to share what he knows with you. He is really active and likes to be able to move around, but he can also be extremely focused….this kid was building marshmallow towers for 30 minutes straight the other day.  

  

I wouldn’t put it past Joshua to throw a tantrum at school {I sure hope he doesn’t, but he might…}. He is very passionate and I really mean that–I’m not just trying to “sugar coat” his strong willed-ness–he does things with 100% of himself, so sometimes, when things don’t go according to plan, it comes out in a 3 year old tantrum. If that happens, be patient with him. Please don’t roll your eyes and say “Oh boy, he’s THAT kid…” {I admit, I am sure I did that a time or two as a teacher myself}. Know that he desperately wants to do the right thing, and to make you proud.  

  

I mostly just want you to know that Joshua is an amazing kid. I know, I’m a little biased. But really. He is. I hope you get to see that in him…I know he’ll have good days and not so great days…but please know he’s trying; we as parents are trying; trying to raise a kind, patient, obedient and respectful little guy….

  

I’m so excited for this new adventure….and I’m also a little terrified….thanks for taking the time to read this. You are going to a huge part of Joshua’s life, and we are so very thankful for that!



Sincerely,


Joshy’s Mama



++++++++++++

Dear Teacher,


My daughter Sophia is in your Pre School class this year. She is really excited about going to school and that you, Mr. Kay {she is certain you are a MR not a MRS} are going to be her teacher!  

  
Sophia is usually called Fia at home and does NOT answer to the name Sophie. Sophia has a twin brother, Joshua. Yes, they are twins, but Sophia is Sophia….not just “Joshua’s twin sister”…Sophia may want to follow her brother around and play with him, or she might be brave enough to venture off on her own, but she will most likely ask and wonder what Joshy is up to.  

  
Sophia loves to sing songs; in fact I am sure you have a little jingle for most things that happen in preschool and I am positive she will have every one of them memorized by the end of day one. Sophia gets bored relatively quickly, so keep things interesting and fun…she’ll be captivated if you do!    

  

I wouldn’t put it past Sophia to have a meltdown sometime while she’s at school. She’s a sensitive little gal and really just wants to know that she’s cared for…sometimes I think she cries louder and harder when we try to ignore the meltdown because she just wants someone to reassure her that everything is OK. Please don’t roll your eyes and say “Oh boy, she’s THAT kid…” {I admit, I am sure I did that a time or two as a teacher myself} Know that she desperately wants your approval, and to make you proud.  

  

I mostly just want you to know that Sophia is an amazing little girl. I know, I’m a little biased. But really. She is. I hope you get to see that in her…I know she’ll have good days and not so great days…but please know she’s trying; we as parents are trying; trying to raise a kind, patient, obedient and respectful little gal….

  

I’m so excited for this new adventure….and I’m also a little terrified….thanks for taking the time to read this. You are going to a huge part of Sophia’s life, and we are so very thankful for that!


Sincerely,

Fia’s Mama

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “dear teacher…

  1. debbie

    I suppose no matter when it happens…the first day (and even more so, the night before sending your children off to school the very first time) is absolutely terrifying!!!! Not only are you placing your precious ones into a complete stranger’s care…. but all of those kids….they can be so mean!!! But you have given your little ones such a strong foundation filled with love and discipline and Godly instruction and I know that God is watching over your family. I love your letter to the teachers….don’t stop communicating with them!! I remember one teacher telling me that SHE was my child’s advocate….excuse me?? YOU will always be your child’s only and best advocate. Teachers will soon see that you are different than most because YOU will be watching and communicating and you will be involved. And like you…when you were in the teacher role…they will appreciate that here is a parent that actually cares! Joshy and Fia are blessed to have such caring parents ….a new page in their story is just about to be written ;-). I love you all!

Leave a Reply

